Three down, one to go

P7260031

That was the morning view from my tent this weekend, overlooking the Shenandoah River.  That was as peaceful as my universe was for 48 hours.  It’s also the only picture I was able to take before the “Your battery is going kaput!” light started flashing on my camera.  Oh well, it’s probably for the best that there was little photographic evidence. 

This was my third of four camping trips of the summer and the first one where it didn’t rain (at least not until we were on the road headed home).  It’s also the first one that might-as-well-be-blogless Holly came on, but I don’t think either of us got any knitting done, despite the best laid plans (or best-packed socks, as the case may be).

The weekend passed in a whirl of sun and sleep, food and friends, tubing and drinking and laughing.  Mai, believe it or not, the section of the Shenandoah that we tubed along this time WAS deep, at least seven feet.  I know this because when I dumped out of my tube, I couldn’t get back in because I couldn’t reach the bottom of the river to push off.  Crazy!  It was a great weekend, despite the fact that I can’t remember a whole lot of the details (see: drinking). 

Camping weekend number four is right around the corner – this Friday, in fact.  This will be my fourth or fifth trip up to Nittany Valley, to camp along the Susquehanna with some friends from near home and perfect strangers from up yonder.  I’ve always had a good time though; I doubt this trip will be any different.  I’ll try to charge my battery so at least I’ll have my pictures next week.

NASCAR Update

As has become my habit lately, I had to Tivo the race and watch it when I got home from the camping trip.  I got in the door at 3:00 or so and struggled to watch it live but I was just exhausted and couldn’t keep my eyes open another second.  After a five-hour nap, I woke up and watched the race.  What a fustercluck!  Come on, Goodyear!  Tires that can’t stand up to more than 12 laps of green-lap racing?  Are you kidding?!?

Turns out my boys didn’t need me to watch them live in order to get the job done.

Winner

Photo by Dana Garrett

Congrats on your second win of the season and your second Brickyard victory.  Led the most laps, including the most important one and the crew got it done on pit road.  Nice job boys!  Up to fourth in the Chase standings with a handful to go ’til Richmond.  Keep doing what you’re doing!
3 thoughts on “Three down, one to go

  1. Jess says:

    Ooooh, I wish I were camping. I can’t believe that I haven’t gone once yet this summer!

  2. Kim says:

    I’m just superstitious enough that I would start TiVoing every race — thinking that made the winning difference.

  3. Mia says:

    Was this the battery on the new camera? I hope not!!! Did you remember to charge it? Sometimes that is why you get those messages. And would you please send the rain my way? Or camp up here? we really need the rain.

Leave a Reply

