Hello? Anybody still out there?!?

At this point, I'd expect my mother to be the only one still looking for updates, but since she doesn't read this here piece of drivel, I may just be typing to the tumbleweeds.  I don't know why I'm having such a hard time getting back in the groove but the last month has been hard for me.  Knitting, blogging, reading, Ravelry – everything seems to have fallen by the wayside and I'm not entirely sure why.  I'll probably get back in the groove just in time to leave town for three weeks.  Not that I'm complaining!

2008_0803canon0005
 Last weekend was the final camping trip of the summer.  There's another possible trip at the end of September, but I'm not really sure how that's going shake out.  Holly and I repacked her car and headed off to the wilds of central Pennsylvania, just outside of State College.  My inner Buckeye had issues with all the Nittany Lion mumbo-jumbo but I kept to myself, for the most part (I was far too outnumbered to behave otherwise).  In keeping with the traditions of the 2008 camping season, a little rain (and a whole lot of thunder) came down early Saturday morning, but it had dried up by the time the coffee was made.

There isn't much else to say about the weekend – the food wasNvhhh01
excellent, the view spectacular and the company couldn't be beat.  I only get to see this particular group of campers once a year during this trip, so it's great to catch up with them over a beer or two.  I do have a mysterious U.C.I. (unidentified camping injury) that is on the verge of sending me to the doctor.  I woke up Sunday morning with a sharp pain in/near my ribs and it hasn't gone away yet.   Initially I chalked it up to sleeping on my oh-so-treacherous air mattress, but usually the kinks have worked their way out by now.  I guess I'll just wait and see how I feel on Monday.

The 2008 Summer Games have kicked off and I've already started down my usual avenue of angst.  I have serious spoiler issues and when the Olympics (or the World Cup or any other sporting event) is played on the other side of the world but the television broadcast is tape-delayed, I get itchy.  I despise having things spoiled for me, and this is just a recipe for disaster.  I managed to get through the day yesterday without hearing the U.S. v. Japan soccer result, but I have the feeling this is going to be the exception more than the rule.    Regardless, I'm heading home tonight to curl up in front of the tv and watch countless hours of Opening Ceremony pageantry.  I love a parade!

I will update my Secret Pal Questions of the Week either tonight or tomorrow.  Sorry to be so neglectful!

7 thoughts on “Hello? Anybody still out there?!?

  1. Jenn says:

    Tom’s been having rib pains, he has a strained intercostal muscle. It hurts a lot, I hope it’s not that!

  2. Yvonne says:

    I was gonna say that MWP was having rib pains but Jenn beat me to it!! Hope it isn’t anything serious. I was wonering where you were.

  3. Kim says:

    You have an inner buckeye? Isn’t that painful?

  4. I read regularly! 😛

  5. Mia says:

    well I am always searching for the drivel written by you. So if your mother won’t read it, at least you know I do.

  6. mai says:

    i’m obsessed with the olympics, and i also don’t want the results to be spoiled for me!
    i hope your ribs are feeling better!

  7. Amy says:

    Just wanted you to know I’m still here! : )

Leave a Reply

