Back in the Saddle

I'm finally back in the swing of things around these here parts.   The Chase is in full swing, Ohio State football is rumbling along, DC United is winding down and the pile of UFOs is increasingly taking over my universe.   It's time to get things under control.

Monk
Behind door #1, we have the knitting.  The three projects under current heavy rotation are the second Thelonious (aka Monk, bka Vacation) sock, the Rosalind scarf (aka Buckeye DNA) for Dr. T and the Oval of Friends garter stitch blanket for charity.  The deadline for submitting it with everyone else's charity knitting is gone, but I'm still going to finish it up and send it along under my own post.  It's the least I can do.  There's also Mimi, which I'd hoped to finish before Australia, but that didn't happen.  Maybe I can squeeze it in before Rhinebeck…

Yeah, I said Rhinebeck!

It looks like I'm finally going to be able to make my first Rhinebeck festival this year and I can't wait!!!  I've been to Maryland Sheep & Wool several times, but passed on it this year in the hopeGlass that I could do NY instead and it looks like I can!  I don't really have many details yet, but I'm SO excited.  YAY YARN!

I realized late last week that October is going to be a non-stop month for me.  Insane parties, a
wedding, a sheep and wool festival and birthday celebrations are going to take up every ounce of my time.  I got a taste of it this weekend with cramming Art on the Avenue, Oktoberfest & a DC United game all into one day.  Overbook much?

I'm glad I went to the art festival, despite seeing several vendors I recognized from Eastern Market.  It was a beautiful day and at least I got a two-hour stroll in among the booths and DSC_0011
artistry.  After I left Alexandria, I headed up to Shirlington to meet some friends for Oktoberfest.  I don't know if it was just being out of town for so long or what, but I've felt really disconnected from my friends lately.   Even though I had no desire to deal with the drunk fest, I'm really glad I ended up meeting up with everyone and hanging out for a few hours.  On the other hand, I'm less-than-thrilled that I left the fun early to go witness another debacle of a soccer game.  Again, at least there were friends there to catch up with, although it didn't make the scoreline any easier to take.

In an undoubtedly feeble attempt to get at least parts of my life under control, I have declared this week to be a Week without TV.  I am a tv-aholic.  I don't know if it's a holdover from being an only child with tv as entertainment/babysitter or what, but I watch an absurd amount of television.  For the most part, it's just on as background noise, but the set in my room is on for a MINIMUM of 6 hours a night, which is simply absurd.  So, this week I go cold turkey.  The Tivo is programmed so I can catch up on the 8 hours of new programming I'll miss this week (yay three-day weekends!), but I'm hoping to use my evenings for something more productive.  Going to the gym, reading a book, cleaning my room, knitting, doing laundry, the list is endless.  When the tv is on, I end up flopping onto my bed & vegging out, while accomplishing absolutely nothing.  Hopefully this will push me in the right direction, so that when I do allow myself to turn on the boob tube next week, I'll only watch what I need to watch and then turn it off when I'm done.  Wish me luck!

NASCAR Update

I know you've just been pining away, lost and adrift without my reflections on the oval for the last month plus. Fear not. I'm back.  I won't bore you with ALL the details, but suffice it to say that the boys decided to hit their stride while I was on vacation.  Two wins and a second while I was gone, a fifth place finish & a win since I've been back.  Sitting on a narrow points lead in the Chase and heading home to Lowe's.  Here's hoping they can just hang on. 

I'll leave you with the giggle-inducing radio chatter from Kansas, his most recent win:

[Right before the final restart]
Chad: “You bring your cape this weekend?”
Jimmie: “It’s in here somewhere.”
Chad: “Open up that damn glovebox and pull that b!tch out.”

…and he managed to pull off the superhero routine, with a little help from Edwards who took his driving cues from a video game and hurled his car past Jimmie's in turn 3, only to slam into the wall in turn 4 and finish second.

4 thoughts on “Back in the Saddle

  1. Kimberly says:

    Must be something in the air. I’m looking at my UFO’s and not turning on my TV in order to get some of them done.
    As for Edwards, BONZIIII !!!
    I loved it. He was going to be a hero or a zero and in my book he’s a hero. That will make the highlight reels for years to come. He’s not called Crazy Cousin for nuttin’.
    PS-Did you catch this week ‘pass in the grass’? Again, a ‘hero or zero’ moment. Props to Regan for the attempt.

  2. Yvonne says:

    Rhinebeck?? No way!! When? Where?? Email me! Let me know!! Can meet you & introduce you to more blog peeps!!!

  3. Kim says:

    I’m sometimes bored with Talladega races, but that was a good one.

  4. mai says:

    congrats on the week without tv. i think this is a great idea! good luck!! october is crazy busy for me too….

Leave a Reply

