The Long Way Home

Last Tuesday, my dad called me and told me to come home.  Seems my mom was admitted to the hospital with a number of medical issues, not the least of which included blood clots in her lungs and leg. 

Sparing the details, she's still in the hospital and terribly uncomfortable,but plugging along.  As usual, the hospital is trying to push her out the door to a nursing home, but neither my father nor I are particularly sure she's out of the woods medically and are reluctat to give in.  I'm scheduled to fly back to VA tomorrow, but we'll see what happens.

While not at the hospital, I've gone  on a couple of fild trips, to LYSs and my alma mater.  Unfortunately, it was parents' weekend, so Gambier was a little crowded.  Fortunately, it put on its best autumn frocks for the occasion.

164

194

210

 

It's no Rhinebeck, but it'll do in a pinch.

7 thoughts on “The Long Way Home

  1. Melissa says:

    Dani-
    I’m sorry to hear about your mom. Please let me know if there is anything I can do.

  2. Kim says:

    Best to all of your family — I’ll be holding you in thought.
    And, there’s something quite marvelous about a college campus in the Fall, isn’t there?

  3. Jenn says:

    All the best to your family, I’ll be thinking of all of you.

  4. mai says:

    i’m sorry to hear about your mother. i hope she gets better soon.
    your campus is beautiful.

  5. maeve says:

    We were so sorry to hear about your mom – we missed you so much at Rhinebeck!

  6. ann says:

    You (and your mom) were in my thoughts all weekend. We missed you but I know it meant a lot for you to be home.
    Rhinebeck next year!

  7. Mia says:

    I hope you mom is okay. Blood clots are serious but very treatable.

Leave a Reply

