12. No gnus is good gnus

We're after getting a second opinion on Mama Knascar's prognosis.  This morning, our options were bad and worse, so we'll see what Doc #2 has to say before we make any hard decisions.  I finally started crying today.  It's not something I do prettily or like to do in public all, but I'm finally reaching my breaking point.  I haven't had enough tim to find a therapist at home yet; I wonder if the hospital has anyone to talk to.

Meanwhile, there has been knitting, although not nearly as much as I would like.  Can't knit with those pesky plastic gloves on so my knits and purls have been limited to my time at home.  So far, I'm halfway through the foot of sock number 1.  I haven't worked on the scarf much at all.  I think the sock has more of the mindless round and round that I need right now.  I may have to go get more sock yarn before all is said and done, though. 

6 thoughts on “12. No gnus is good gnus

  1. Lara says:

    I’m so so sorry to hear about your momma. Best wishes to all of you…

  2. Jeanne B. says:

    I’m pretty sure the hospital should have someone on staff to help. If you’re feeling exceptionally bad, behavioral health services will usually allow emergency visits. When my Mom was in the hospital in her last days, I knit like mad. The sock turned out way too big and was frogged three times. I think it was more of a cathartic device than anything else, ala E. Zimmerman. Hang in there.

  3. Mel says:

    I’m sure the hospital could find a counselor for you. I hope the second opinion is better… sending you hugs and well-wishes.

  4. mai says:

    i think that talking to someone is a good idea. i’m glad you finally allowed yourself to get emotional. i can’t even imagine what you’re going through right now, but i know you don’t have to do it alone. hang in there.

  5. Leuz says:

    Hey friend — I’m thinking about you non-stop. I’m here for you once you get back to DC. I bet the hospital will hook you up with a counselor in Ohio, and have you checked into Hospice? They are supposed to be very helpful. I’m checking around for you here in VA too. It’s good to cry — let it out! It will help. Sending you lots of love and good wishes!!

  6. Amy says:

    I have been thinking about you as well. Finding someone to talk to is a great idea as is the crying. You need that release. I’ll continue to keep you and your family in my thoughts and prayers. I do know of a few good therapists if you need some names in VA.

Leave a Reply

