2008: From A to Z

It will probably take me a couple of months to try to do a pseudo-year in review (or, more likely, I'll quit halfway through) but as with all bright ideas, I'll start off by announcing the intention, then hope y'all forget about it by the time I get to G.  Let's aim to knock out "A" tomorrow, shall we?

I realized last night as I was singing along with Boris Karloff that I hadn’t yet posted my list of holiday tv specials and when they were airing.  (Um, anyone who missed the “real” “How the Grinch Stole Christmas” last night, my most sincere apologies).  It was on up against the Jim Carrey version and it made me wonder: is there a generation gap between those who prefer the 1966 original to the 2000 life-action remake?  In the interest of full disclosure, I must admit to having never seen the remake, and I confess I have no desire to indulge [also see: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory].

BTW, have you seen this?  I would consider adding it to my Amazon wish list, if only for the first three.

It looks like not only has the Grinch gone by the wayside, but Charlie Brown also isn't airing in the next 14 days (at least, not according to TVGuide), but you can still catch the following shows to get into the holiday spirit:

12/2    8 pm      Santa Claus is Coming to Town (ABC)
12/3    8 pm     Rudolph, The Red-Nosed Reindeer (CBS)
12/5   8 pm      How the Grinch Stole Christmas (ABC)[non-animated version…if you're into that kind of thing]

I'll do some deeper digging and start a running list on my sidebar again this year (yes, StephyL, I'll look up Nestor for you)

[edited to fix broken link.  Thanks, Stick]

7 thoughts on “2008: From A to Z

  1. Amy says:

    Raises had sheepishly…Charlie Brown is on Monday, December 8 at 8 p.m. on ABC. I’ll send you a link I found too… : )
    And, I think there may indeed be a generational gap. I haven’t even watched the Jim Carrey version.

  2. Stick says:

    the link to “this” didn’t work for me 😦
    I liked the Jim Carrey version OK. To me it’s like another show altogether – I don’t compare the two. I did not, however, see the new Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Nor do I intend to.

  3. Stephenie Liu says:

    Yay! I knew I could count on you for my Nestor information. Was no one else’s childhood spent spilling tears over Nestor and his tragedies and triumphs?

  4. mai says:

    i really very strongly dislike the holidays, but i can definitely get on board with the grinch! i usually don’t like remakes either and haven’t seen the non-animated version, but cartoons? i love. i actually liked charlie and the chocolate factory…go figure!

  5. Anonymous says:

    Refuse to watch the Jim Carrey version. Uhm, which Xmas in CT (another instance in which I refuse to watch the remake)? A Boyfriend for Christmas isn’t showing when it’s on…I ‘heart’ it. The acting’s so bad & that just makes me love it all the more!

  6. Pamela says:

    Nestor! Is a cableless one going to be offered a place with cable to see it 🙂 It’s the biggest tearjerker anywhere…apparently crying is good for one’s sinuses.

  7. Phyl says:

    I adore the classics!
    I did watch the Jim Carrey version. It was creepy. I didn’t like it. Turned the story into something that it’s not.

Leave a Reply

