B is for…

blogging!

The irony that I haven't posted in a week is not lost on me.

I'm not entirely sure why I continue to blog.  It started off as a catch-all place to stay in touch with Stick when she moved to Atlanta (en route to Nashville), then the blogosphere continued to be a place where I'd toss my voice into the void and see what happened.  I'm not one of those people who puts it all out there, which would surprise no one that I know IRL because that's just not how I am.  I do, however, still enjoy this little medium to say hi to the folks out there who are vaguely interested in what's going on in my little corner of the world.

If blogging were truly my therapy, I'd definitely be up for another round of NaBloPoMo, but as it is, I think I may need to go back to good old fashioned journaling for a while.  Not at the expense of the blog, but perhaps as a sidebar.   With the Mama Knascar situation, I'm feeling a fairly strong desire to scream at the world, and if you're one of my three loyal readers, you don't deserve that.

[Speaking of Mama Knascar, they moved her back to the nursing home last week, where she steadily began another downward slide.  When I last talked to Papa K, he thought they were going to have to admit her back into the hospital to see what's going on.]

Not unsurprisingly, as of yesterday, B is also for blood pressure, as in mine has gotten a little high lately, so now I'm on meds.  I don't know if it's due to weight or stress – both of which are substantial – but there you have it.

To make this post even remotely interesting, I'll distract you with yarn:

Choc_cake

Chocolate cake!  Get it?  See, it's a yarn cake, and it's choc…oh never mind!

Brigo

Cloudy sky colorway…how appropriate

The pictures could easily be brought to you by the letter M as they are both of my new Malabrigo.  I initially cast on for the Mockery socks in my Malabrigo sock, but decided that the combination of yarn and pattern just wasn't working for me, so last night I cast on the toe for the Boyfriend socks (if you knit it, they will come…).  The bottom pic is of the Silky Merino that I picked up so that I could finally cast on Grumperina's Shifting Sands scarf.

Swirl

Of course, since I don't know of any blue sand, I've redubbed it my Swirling Skies scarf.  With all the needle-free cabling, it's not quite the quick knit I hoped for, but I really like the way it's coming out, so I'll keep plugging away.  Besides, there's always Baby for when I need something truly mindless.

Baby

Nobody puts Baby in a plastic bag and accidentally kicks it off the foot of the bed…oops!

Right now Baby is just a big tube of Brooks Farm.  I'm about 4" from starting the hem at the bottom though, so that's something.  I have absolutely no idea which skein I'm on.  Two?  Three?  The size 11 needles are certainly helping stretch it out.

9 thoughts on “B is for…

  1. Jenn says:

    I’m not sure why I blog, either. My family doesn’t know about it, most of my “IRL” friends (the ones I knew before blogging) don’t know about it and I can’t imagine trying to explain it to them. I’m sure it’ll come up some day and I don’t know what I’ll say then. We’ll see.
    BLAH for your mom, I hope they can figure out what’s going on and fast.

  2. Stick says:

    I went thru this same “why am i blogging phase?” mostly because the pressure i felt to blog was pissing me off. Also because I do write a bit in a journal which gives me the outlet so I don’t feel the “need” to blog. But every now and again something comes into my life that must be shared. So I blog on the occasions when it feels right. Maybe you’ll find that you can release the pressure to blog until something truly blogable happens.
    and also because keeping up with me doesn’t require blogging given that we TM and IM all day every day 😀

  3. Stick says:

    oh! and Chocolate Cake! Bwah ha ha ha ha ha! oh, the tears, the side ache, the laughter. ooh… ah… uh.

  4. mai says:

    hey this is your personal space. if you want to scream at the world, that’s your prerogative! no doubt your blood pressure has also been affected by your mother’s health. i hope the meds help. hang in there.

  5. Pamela says:

    I blog so I can go back and remember stuff. Cause we know I’m not actually a good journal writer 🙂
    Blogging is different from journalling- put the blog stuff here, the journal stuff in the journal. Was that helpful?
    Let’s not discuss blood pressure or the fact I was supposed to go back this month for a recheck…
    LOVE the shifting sands! I should have bought that yarn today
    Hugs to Mama and PaPa and Grandma (cause she needs them to) K!

  6. Yvonne says:

    The yarn looks DELISH. Sorry to hear about Mama K. 😦 Sending happy thoughts and hugs your way.

  7. sitdevil says:

    Why do we blog? Its another creative outlet, at least for me. My mom reads my blog and I use it as a photo post for my family to see what I’m up to. I also post for my sanity, no one judging what I want to discuss today. If it weren’t for blogs I think I’d put away my needles and give up. Everyones stories (and knitting sometimes) inspire me, for the future, and how all the other bloggers stay strong throughout lifes ups and downs. Stay strong and keep knitting.

  8. Kim says:

    So sorry about your mom. And I, for one, am glad you blog, and hope you continue to.

  9. Amy says:

    A private journal is the way to go! I still continue to do that too. It helps me with the things I prefer to keep off my blog. Although, we both know I blog even less than you. : D
    You and your family will continue to be in my thoughts & prayers. Take care.

Leave a Reply

