Holding Hands

Monday morning, I held her hand.

The same hand that taught me to crochet and tried to teach me how to cook.

The same hand that washed my clothes and turned the pages of my bedtime stories.

The hand that wanted to help and guide me, when all I could so was strive for my independence.  The hand that tried to give me everything I needed.

I held her hand while I cried, told her I loved her, apologized for not being a better daughter and especially for never giving her grandchildren.

Monday afternoon, my mother passed from this world to the next after a brief, painful struggle with lung cancer.  May she find peace.

15 thoughts on “Holding Hands

  1. Stick says:

    WOW. Hugs to you.

  2. Jenn says:

    Shit. I was just thinking about you last night and wondering how you were doing. Sending much love your way.

  3. maeve says:

    I am so sorry to hear about your mom. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

  4. Mel says:

    Beatifully and simply written. lots of love and hugs.

  5. mai says:

    danielle, i’m so sorry to hear about your mom’s passing. sending lots of hugs and love your way.

  6. I’m sorry to hear about your mom. I wish you my best in this difficult time.

  7. Kim says:

    That you told her made all the difference to her, I’m sure. I know it will make all the difference to you.
    Grieve.

  8. steph says:

    oh d, i think she was so proud of you and knew just how much you love her. and what would she have done with a daughter with no sass anyway?
    i’m thinking of you and sending many hugs and all my love to you.

  9. Sending hugs as well. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

  10. Pamela says:

    I’m so sorry! At least she made it through your birthday and you got to say good-bye and be there at the end. She’s at peace now.
    Hugs to you and your dad and grandma.

  11. Yvonne says:

    Dani, I’m so, so, so sorry. I can’t imagine the hurt you’re feeling. I wish I had been online earlier to know that she had passed away and send you love and hugs earlier. đŸ˜¦
    Lots and lots and lots of love.

  12. Jeanne B. says:

    Dani, my deepest and sincerest condolences, I am so very sorry. I can only imagine how you are feeling. Being with her was the best gift you could ever give her. Be at peace. {{{hugs}}}

  13. Donna says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss. I lost my mom to uterine cancer 12 years ago…it is a wrenching loss.

  14. nigelmoose says:

    Oh, I am so sorry. I’m glad that you were able to be there with her–I’m sure that meant so much to both of you. May you find comfort among your loved ones.

  15. Mia says:

    I am playing catchup on blog reading. I am sorry to hear about your mom. It is good that you were there. I was when my mother died as well. Let me know if you need anything at all even if it is some one to talk to who has been through it. Hugs!!!!

Leave a Reply

