Thank You

Thank you all for your words of love, support and shared expletives.  I'm still coping (poorly) with the news am trying to follow the advice laid out for me.  I've made it to the gym the last several days and have been doing my best to follow the meal plan laid out by my dietitian.  I slipped up a bit on Saturday night – went to a party where I thought x was being served and it ended up being y – but I didn't go totally off the deep end and will try not to make the same mistakes again.

It's weird.  After decades of being overweight and having done time with Weight Watchers, it's much easier for my brain to think in terms of cutting out certain foods and modifying certain habits.  It's much more difficult for me to think in terms of proteins and carbs and sugars and fats.  I don't know why.  I should probably take greater care in writing things down and checking things off – I'm kind of winging it a little bit right now.  There seems to be a greater emphasis on spacing out certain types of food over the course of the day to make sure that my glucose levels stabilize, versus being able to move types of food around during the course of your day, as long as everything balances out at the end of the day.  This is REALLY hard for me because I just don't eat in the mornings.  Maybe once I start going to the gym before work (HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!), I'll be more likely to want to eat before noon.

Bleak

Bleak Saturday Sky

I feel like I spent the entire weekend testing my ability to resist alcohol.  I'm playing this little mind game with myself that I'm only giving it up for Lent, and the past 72 hours made me realize what a social drinker I am.  I still had a good time, for the most part, but the whole shy-to-the-bones thing is much more difficult for me to deal with without a drink in my hands.  Socially awkward much?

Much of yesterday was spent waiting for the "Northeast Mega-Storm" to hit D.C.  We had some flurries early but it didn't decide to get serious until late last night.

Finally

Still well below the forecast six to nine inches, it did manage to blanket things nicely this morning.  Of course, this was taken as I was beginning my schlep to the office.  I'm more than happy to mock DC's shutting down, but I wouldn't have minded a little quality time with the couch and the clicker.

Finally2

Of course, the forecast for Friday is 62 degrees.

4 thoughts on “Thank You

  1. mai says:

    i have to eat breakfast! i don’t know how you go without.

  2. ann says:

    could you do something like a smoothie for breakfast, that you sipped on throughout the morning? yogurt + frozen fruit + splenda?
    also, I totally hear you on the drink-as-social-crutch thing. sometimes I get club soda with limes in it if I don’t want the alcohol.

  3. Kim says:

    Interesting how the whole mind-set thing works, huh? I guess just go with the one that works. . . (she said, being NO help at all.)
    Cannot believe Athens got more snow than DC!

  4. Amy says:

    I hope things will continue to go well for you. I have a family history on both sides and worry it’s going to happen to me someday. I’m so happy you have wonderful friends who are here to support you during this transitional time to new habits. Hugs. : )

Leave a Reply

