Childhood Nostalgia

I spent last weekend in my hometown of Columbus, Ohio, checking in on my dad whom I haven't seen since December.   He's doing about as well as can be expected but it's obvious that he's lonely and extremely out of sorts.  I wish I had the slightest idea what to do for him.  The only thing I can think of for right now is to call and visit more often, although the latter will become more difficult as time goes by.

I did my best to stick with the diet/exercise plan, but there were some noticeable hiccups.  I was helpless when confronted with Cracker Barrel's hash brown casserole – I didn't even order it; they just brought extra!  I allowed myself to eat half of it, though that was probably a quarter more than I should've ingested.  I'll know how much damage was done when I weigh-in tomorrow.

I went for a couple of walks around the 'hood, since Columbus can't be bothered to have a Gold's Gym.  The scenery was breathtaking.

Brewery

Ye olde brewery


Yes, I grew up less than a mile from the Anheuser-Busch brewery in Columbus.  When I was younger, I used to hop on my royal blue Omni-10 ten-speed and pedal up the street to see the Clydesdales when they toured or go on the tour, which ends in the tasting room.  Of course, the tasting room is far different now than it was then (or so I assume – I haven't been back since I turned 21 many moons ago).   Back in the day, they would pour the kiddies some Route 66 root beer.  I think this was a product that was only test marketed in cities with breweries, although I could be wrong.  I know there are two different Route 66/Root 66 products out there, but I don't think either of them is the same as I remember. 

Does anyone remember Eagle Snacks?  Those little pretzels in the shape of the Anheuser-Busch eagle logo?  They used to have little bowls of them sitting on the bar in the tasting room, you know, so you wouldn't get too drunk on your 4 oz of beer.  Hmm, maybe I need to go on another tour, just to check things out.

And if that weren't an enticing enough view…

Tanks

Oooh, water tanks!

At least it was a pretty morning.

I did get a chance to meetup with my friend Jen while I was home (hi Jen!!!).  We went to Max & Erma's, which most folks have never heard of, but it's oooh so tasty.   I had to get a burger but at least I resisted the french fries.

In knitting news, I accomplished absolutely nothing except confirming that I need to frog my pink thing and go down a needle size.  As usual.  Why oh why am I so loose!?!?!?

2 thoughts on “Childhood Nostalgia

  1. Stick says:

    Why does Max and Erma’s ring a bell for me?

  2. Yvonne says:

    We have Max & Erma’s in the Pittsburgh area! Woohoo! I am not a fan of the Cracker Barrel hash brown casserole — the last few times, it’s been lukewarm. I like it piping hot. 😦
    I remember Eagle snacks!! And we used to go to the fairs to see the Clydesdales, including the Ohio State Fair, where we saw Sha-Na-Na!

Leave a Reply

