Classy

I had my first Intro to Digital Photography class, offered through Arlington County, earlier this week.  First impressions are good – it's a very small class (12 people) with a wide range of ages and skill levels.  Most people have point-and-shoots, but there are a couple of us who have DSLRs (I was afraid I'd be the only one).  Apparently we're going to have some lecture time, some field trip photo shoots and some time in the computer lab going over using Photoshop to make your pictures even better.  I'm really excited.

I'm also a little fearful (come on, this is me we're talking about).  This is something I really want to improve/be good at, and even our first homework assignment has me a little stressed out.   We're supposed to bring in our three favorite photos that we've taken and this could take me WEEKS to figure out.  And my favorite photos aren't always the BEST photos (if that makes any sense). 

These are the ones I've chosen (so far):

#1

Day 128 - World War II Memorial at Dusk

I think there's a lot that could be better about it, but I've always loved it.

#2

Tour Eiffel

Another not-spectacular shot, but I like the angle and the light.

#3

Angles

I took about a zillion funky-angled shots of the Sydney Opera House, but I think this is my favorite.  I also think this one is going to get me in trouble because Teach says that a good photo should require no explanation.  This one may need a little clarification…

Honorable Mention #1

Surfs_up

HM #1.5

DSC_0037

They're both from Manly Beach in Sydney.  I just like the colors, though it bugs me that the horizon isn't level in the first.  The weather was incredible that day.

HM #2

Streeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeetch!

Nothing terribly exciting – I just like the colors and his pose.

Agree?  Disagree?
I know they're supposed to be my favorite pictures, but I'm opening myself up to class criticism critique anyway, so I might as well start with people who will theoretically be more gentle with me.  I have a lot to learn about composition and whatnot but I'm really looking forward to picking up more tips.

I had my third appointment with my dietitian yesterday.  I'm still plugging along, but I'm under on my calorie intake (I knew this), so I need to pump that up a little.  She just wants me to keep doing what I'm doing and aim to lose another 8-10 lbs next month.  Ugh.  I guess I shouldn't moan and groan too much though – I'm down 20 in six weeks.  WOOHOO!

5 thoughts on “Classy

  1. mai says:

    wow 20 lbs in six weeks is awesome! i’m surprised they want to up your calorie intake, though. why is that?
    i’d love to take a photography class. have fun with it!

  2. ann says:

    DUDE! You are well on your way to rocking your health!
    I really like HM#1.5, fwiw.

  3. Steph says:

    I really like all of them. Esp #2, HM#1, and HM#3. HM#3 might be my fave–the colors and the composition are great.

  4. Kim says:

    ANY Lincoln Memorial photo is a winner.

  5. Joan says:

    i like the funky bird – and you said you can’t take action shots!

Leave a Reply

