Oh, Carolina

My Memorial Day weekend was spent getting soaking wet.  This would've been fine if I'd been at the beach or maybe a water park, but when you're camped out at Lowe's Motor Speedway, this is NOT the way to go.

Rain
Car condom

Rain and miserable half-run race aside, it was a great long weekend.  I got to catch up with my friends that I haven't seen since we went to Darlington a couple of years ago and meet their new pooch, Jenny.

Jenny
Jenifa, oh Jenny

The got her from a hound rescue organization because she'd been severely abused by her former owner (apparently, a police officer, no less – don't get me started on my rant about what should happen to people who abuse animals and children).  She bonded with my friend R pretty quickly but she's terrified of strangers and men.  She's got a great personality when she forgets that she's not scared half to death.  I have faith that my friends will spoil her rotten as she gets used to the rest of the zoo (they have one other dog and three cats – my Claritin had its work cut out for it last weekend).

The rest of my (un-blogged) May has been pretty busy with camping trips (Harrisburg & Crystal Coast, with another one coming up tomorrow outside of Pittsburgh).  I don't think my poor little tent is going to last through August, but we'll see what happens.  If I have to replace it, so be it.  It's been about five years – I could stand an upgrade.

I managed to break my toe almost a month ago, which kept me away from the gym for a couple of weeks.  Laziness took over after that.  Unfortunately, I'm starting to feel it, so it's time to override the laziness and get back in the saddle.  The last thing I want to do is backslide to the point where my doctor has to bring up the dreaded Metformin again.  I managed to do some time last night, but tonight's going to be a bit trickier.

My intro photography class ended this week and I immediately signed up for the next class taught by the same woman.  Of course, I was so eager to get in her class that I completely neglected to actually look at the schedule and realize that I'm going to miss THREE of the eight classes in the session.   Good job, me.  I continue to go back and forth on whether or not it's been worth the money, but I'm enjoying myself, so there's always that.

Fountain

Arches

Okay sis, there's your entry.  Now shoo!  Go on!  Shoo!
2 thoughts on “Oh, Carolina

  1. Kim says:

    Wow — didn’t know you went to Charlotte. We could have met halfway Sunday afternoon/night. Sorry your race luck was so miserable.

  2. Sis says:

    oh my lord, thank god you’re blogging again. and pictures and -immie….i missed you for the last however long. ahh…

Leave a Reply

