Knit One, Tink Two

It seems that when you're working on two projects simultaneously, each more boring than the other, when a change suddenly crops up in one of the patterns, you get thrown into a maelstrom of incompetence.

I finally finished the stockinette portion of Ishbel and moved on to the charted lace pattern.  This was all very well and good for perhaps the first eight rows and then I went stupid (I knew I should've taken that left turn at Albuquerque).  So, I tinked.  Then I knit another row and a half.  Wondered why I had an extra stitch.  Counted.  Swore.  Tinked again.  Tossed Ishbel across the room and retrieved the snoozerific blanket.  Knit three-quarters of a row.  Realized I should've been purling.  Opened a beer.  Watched NCIS.

Tues_knit 

Lunchtime with knitting and Samurai Sudoku

Unfortunately, the same zig-zaggy approach can be more or less be applied to my weight loss attempts: lose two pounds, gain one back.

Graph 

At most, I've lost 24 pounds.  Currently, I'm back up ten pounds.    Not at all surprisingly, I was at my lowest earlier this spring, before all the camping trips and broken toes and blown-out knees.  Hopefully I can manage to get back in form, but I have serious motivational issues.  I started doing a Couch-to-5K running program but had to quit after the first two weeks because that's when I tweaked my right knee (Note: 'Shorty' is way too old to get low, low, low, low, low, low, low, low).  I did manage to get to the gym yesterday, so if I make it a couple more times this week, I'll consider it a success.

One thought on “Knit One, Tink Two

  1. Melyssa says:

    hmmm… “a maelstrom of incompetence”? you’re definitely an English major. 🙂
    Your weight loss is great, keep it up! I know you can do it!

Leave a Reply

