One Angry Dwarf…

Once again, my bizarre taste in music comes back to bite me in the butt.  See, I'm playing this little game with myself  – trying to use Shuffle Songs on the ol' iPod to give me an idea of what to blog about.  Unfortunately, "One Angry Dwarf and 200 Solemn Faces" doesn't really work as any great launching off point.  This Ben Folds Five CD – specifically "Song for the Dumped" – does remind me of the early days of supporting DC United back  in the late 90s.  I don't remember exactly, but I'm pretty sure Pauly must've played the CD while he was driving me home from watching some game or another at Summers.

MLS Cup 04 Weekend 008

DC United was my obsession long before hashing and eons before NASCAR.  I followed United before I learned to knit, teaching myself out of a Leisure Arts book during the off-season (either '97 or '98).  I joined a supporters' club – the Screaming Eagles – because my friends weren't (and aren't) into soccer.  I knew I wanted to go to games, but I just as strongly knew I would never go alone.  Over the years, I've made some fantastic memories with the club – tailgates, roadtrips, and championship games, as well as Meet-the-Team days, happy hours and viewing parties.  There are people whose faces I've known for years, but couldn't tell you their names if my life depended on it.  It doesn't seem to matter because our love for the club and our shared memories are all the recognition we need.

MLS Cup 04 Weekend 022

This year, more than any other, I've missed a lot of games.  While I don't have season tickets this year, if there's a game at RFK and I happen to be in town, that's where I'll be.  There's very little as strange to me as watching a game I've Tivo'd where I can see my friends bouncing in the stands and I'm not there.  I chose to travel this year, both for vacations and hash campouts, instead of planning my summer around the schedule as I have in the past.  I don't regret it at all, but it does feel a little odd. 

I'll be missing the U.S. Open Cup final against Seattle next week.  Once again, I'll be out of town – this time Colorado – for another hash event.  Even though it's unlikely I'll be able to catch the game while in Denver, I'll be cheering on the black-and-red from the Mile High City.  No, the hat won't be making the trip.

The_pic

One thought on “One Angry Dwarf…

  1. Steph says:

    It is amazing that the team ever got the Cup trophy back after that crush. I like that the photo fully captures the passion with which Pauly is kissing the Cup. I mean, it’s like trashy-romance-novel passion.

Leave a Reply

