You May Be Right

Yeah, I'm totally skipping through Shuffle Songs until I find something I can make up a post about. Sue me.

It's often said – and certainly scientifically proven somewhere – that smell is the sense most likely to evoke memory.  For me, it's always been sound.  Specifically music.  Maybe it's because of my perpetual allergies and my nearly non-existent sense of smell, but for the most part, songs are far more likely to evoke a memory or emotional response.  While "You May Be Right" doesn't tie to anything specific for me, Billy Joel certainly does.

Although "You May Be Right" is on Glass Houses – one of my now favorites – the first album I remember really listening to is Nylon Curtain.  I was maybe 12 or 13, and my best friend at the time, Christy, had it on vinyl.  "Allentown" is the sentimental favorite off that record – having been born in Lehigh Valley, PA – but when I think about sitting in her den with her giant Weimaraner, Jaeger, it's always "Goodnight Saigon," with its cricket-and-helicoptor-rotor intro and haunting lyrics that comes to mind.

In the midst of the current war/general fustercluck, I can't help but think of my friends who are in the miltary.  Some are in S. Korea for Guard duty or in Eastern Europe doing whatever it is they do.  Others have mystery jobs performing duties that I don't even want to imagine.  Others have been to the sandbox and returned safely, some are on their way and some are still there.  Having just listened to "Goodnight Saigon" again – and for the first time in ages – I guess I just hope they're looking out for each other, wherever they may be, and come home safe.  The first round's on me.

Except for MLB – I'm still not buying you those leather chaps.

2 thoughts on “You May Be Right

  1. Cptn S.A. Ho says:

    This is an amazing song that I can’t get out of my head. Perhaps it might help to envoke some memories for you despite being a little newer.
    http://www.playlist.com/searchbeta/tracks#Surround%20me%20with%20your%20love

  2. Sis says:

    just caught up on all of your recent posts. great stuff, sis. xoxo.

Leave a Reply

