Fall Fell

I think the mid-Atlantic has finally settled into autumn after a couple of false starts.  Unfortunately, that means there’s been a lot of rain lately.  The upside, however, is that I’m in one of my extremely rare nesting phases.  Not that it’s uncommon for me to want to stay tucked in the house and veg out in front of the TV.  My nesting phase means I want to…(gulp)…cook.

Last spring, I picked up this used slow cooker from our trusty Goodwill store around the way, but this is the first time I’ve used it.  AllRecipes turned up this simple recipe for beef stew, so away I went.  I didn’t want anything terribly complicated, just the basics – beef, potatoes, carrots, onions…& stew.  It could use some more salt and pepper, and perhaps a dash more wine, but all in all, I enjoyed it (and the leftovers!).  If anyone else has any tried-and-true dishes they’d like to share, please let me know.  I’m all for doing very little work and then letting Mr. Crock Pot do his thing.

While my dinner was bubbling away in the kitchen, I was tuned in to the Martinsville race (I’ll settle for 2nd if I have to, Jimmie, but let’s not make a habit of it, ‘kay?) and knitting away on my sweater.

The pattern is Chicknits’ Mondo Cable Pulli and it’s pretty easy-peasy once you get through the neckline increases.  I just finished the third cable crossover and am cruising down the body; it’s amazing how quickly a project goes when one works on it pretty much exclusively.  Sure, I stray occasionally with the odd commuter or hockey sock, but this has been the at-home knitting for the past week.  Of course, I’ve also been dreadfully sick for the majority of that time, but I never got my head screwed on straight enough to work on it any earlier than 5:00 in the evening anyway, so it’s not like I was slaving away over my size 8 circ all day and night for the past week.  If I proceed true to form, it will either a) not fit or b) I will lose interest in the next 72 hours, lob it into a corner, and cast on something else altogether.   Thanks to the committee at Rhinebeck for helping my choose this yarn and the Fern colorway – I love it!

One thought on “Fall Fell

  1. Steph says:

    wow, you’ve gotten ALOT done on the sweater! impressive. also, your beef stew is making me hungry.

Leave a Reply

