Six-month hiatus

That’s about how long it should be before it’s time to drag any of my camping gear back out of the basement.  I am SO not cut out for cold-weather hashing.  Last night wasn’t too bad, but it dipped below freezing on Friday night and it was coooooooooooooooold!  Thank goodness I remembered every article of fleece I owned; as we were unpacking the car, my friend realized she’d forgotten to pack her sleeping bag.  Fortunately she could borrow a friend’s one night and then borrowed layers for the second when it wasn’t quite as cold.

Despite the Camp Crystal Lake, the campsite was really pretty.  Saturday dawned with a heavy layer of fog, but once it burned off it was an absolutely beautiful day.  I spent the day doing absolutely nothing but lounging around, taking pictures of shenanigans and the scenery and when that was done, there may have been a midday nap.

As glad as I am to not have to even think about digging my tent out again this year, I’ll miss what camping means.  I only see a lot of my Hash friends a few times a  year and it’s always in the woods in some remote countryside.  It’s probably for the best; my body can’t take much more this.  Fortunately, I don’t have another big event until the beginning of December, so I have a month to dry out and recover.

One thought on “Six-month hiatus

  1. Steph says:

    I love the photo of the dock and boathouse in the fog. Nice perspective!

Leave a Reply

