Compose & Wait

I can’t think of two concepts more difficult for me to master, except maybe “learn to accept a compliment gracefully” & “exercise”.  Patience may be a virtue, but it’s certainly not my strong point.  More to the point, these words seemed to sum up Sam Abell’s philosophy on photography at the Burke Theater last night in a lecture that was part of the week-long FotoweekDC program.  For a little over two hours, Mr. Abell shared his history with photography as well as dozens of amazing photographs.

What I found most fascinating was that he would have taken a series of photographs and initially think that Photo A in the series was the photo, the one that would be published, the one that spoke the most to him.  Then, after time, he would look back through the series and realize that Photo D was really the most evocative for him.  Of course, this epiphany did cause some groaning on my part – if a man who’s been doing this for 50 years isn’t sure which is the best photo, how the heck am I ever going to know?  All I can do is keep snapping away, I suppose.

Tonight I’m off to see a presentation by Stephen Wilkes as part of the same FotoweekDC series.  Hopefully I’ll be able to stay awake; this dreary weather is getting to me.

Lastly, a heartfelt thank you to those who are currently serving, have served or who have fallen while serving this country.  Happy Veterans’ Day.

 

 

Leave a Reply

