Happy New Year!

Wow, I can’t believe I haven’t written at all this year!  Not that I have anything exciting to share, but I should’ve at least faked it once in the last three months.

Once again, the gang and I rented a house in the middle of nowhere Virginia.  Four days of fun, food, friends and…I don’t have a synonym for alcohol that starts with F, but there was a lot of that, too.  The running people went on treks in the wood, while I lounged in front of the fire, knit and did some reading.  I think I, by far, got the better end of the deal.

There were a couple of roadtrips to southeastern Virginia earlier this year to visit hashiful friends.  Both trips were perfect little weekend getaways involving great food, good friends and a couple of smooches from a boy that I should avoid like the plague.  Nothing’s going to come of it, and I’m okay with that.  It’s just nice to have a boy want to give you smooches every so often, ya know?

As we all know, it snowed a little in the midAtlantic this year.  And by a little, I mean record-setting amounts of the white stuff fell from the sky.  Unlike seemingly everyone else, I had no problem with the snow – as a matter of fact, I loved it!  Maybe it’s because I like being a homebody, maybe because there are a lot of places I could walk to or the three people sharing my house provided more than enough human contact.  Any way, I enjoyed the snow days off work and grin I couldn’t stop everytime I glanced outside and saw more than a foot of snow.  Yes, I even went out and shoveled it.  The only thing I DON’T like about snow is when it gets dirty and grungy and nasty.  The last of that FINALLY melted away earlier this week.

But it was magical while it lasted.

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Amy says:

    Firmentation! There’s your word for alcohol that begins with the letter F.
    Glad you enjoyed your weekend getaways. The snow looks gorgeous!

  2. Stick says:

    Pretty snow!

  3. Yvonne says:

    OMG — she lives!!!

  4. Steph says:

    yay, you’re back! i missed you! still jealous of the snow though…where’d you take the eagle-eye view of the abode from?

Leave a Reply

