Just Write, Dammit

I’ve had a handful of blog posts whirling around in my head for the past week and just haven’t sat down to write.  I feel like I’m blogging in a vacuum half the time anyway, so it’s hard to motivate when I feel like I’m only writing for an audience of one – and I already know what’s going on in my life!

Since I’m not working these days, I feel like the only thing I can contribute to living with my grandmother is making sure she eats (something that’s been a problem lately).  Anyone who knows me in the flesh knows that, while I’m not a BAD cook per se, I’m definitely not a confident one.  As such, you’d think I would perfect a handful of dishes and stick to them religiously.  Instead, I constantly skim the internet to find new recipes to try.

Yesterday was bread day:

Instead of using tried-and-true recipes, I decided to go a different route.  This loaf was made using King Arthur Flour’s 100% Whole Wheat Bread recipe.  I meant to add in some vital wheat gluten, which I’ve heard helps with the texture of whole wheat bread, but I forgot.  As it stands, this bread is still quite tasty.  It’s a little on the dense side, and I had some SERIOUS doubts after kneading the dough, but both grandma and I have been slowly working our way through the loaf so I consider that to be a win.

After my baking success, I got a little cocky and put together Chicken Stroganoff for dinner.  I’d like to give this recipe another shot someday because it just sounds SO GOOD, and I’m not sure where exactly I failed in my execution.  I substituted sour cream for the Greek yogurt and Sauvignon Blanc for the vermouth, so maybe that had something to do with it.  At the end of the day, chicken and noodles and onion and sour cream and mushrooms make a delish combo (though it didn’t earn a rave review from g’ma).

Another culinary victory was this morning’s breakfast casserole:

breakfastDespite its radioactive yellow color in this photo, it really turned out quite tasty.  Again, I did tweak the Kitchn’s Bacon, Potato & Egg Breakfast Casserole recipe, but mainly due to budgetary reasons more than anything else.  The frozen potatoes I had on hand already had diced onions and peppers included, and I skipped the sun-dried tomatoes altogether.  I mixed everything together last night so all I had to do was pull out the bowl, pour it into a prepared baking dish and toss it in the oven this morning.  Trust me, first thing in the morning, it’s best for everyone involved if actions involving motor skills are limited.  Next time, I’ll likely add more bacon (& since when is adding more bacon ever a bad thing).

After spending ALL DAY in the kitchen yesterday, I swore today was going to be all about the leftovers.  Around lunchtime, I promptly forgot this vow when I remembered that I had thawed shrimp and leftover rice in the fridge.

fried riceI got this recipe from Simply Recipes, but to give the blogger her due, the recipe actually stems from Jaden Hair at Steamy Kitchen.  As far as I’m concerned, this was another win.  The frozen shrimp I used was pre-cooked, but other than that, I stuck pretty close to the recipe on this one.  I think the only exchange may have been canola for sesame oil.

Leave a Reply

