New Tricks

rebekah

Wednesday night, Rebekah Bucnis-Thompson did a presentation at the Franklin-Springboro Public Library on digital photography.   It was a “Learn Your Digital Camera” talk and, while I’m fairly familiar with my D90, I figured even if I picked up one or two things, I’d be worth the trip.  It was.

Most of what she discussed were things I’d picked up either on my own or the course I took through Arlington County a couple of years ago, but it was good to have things reinforced.  The main thing is that I have GOT to start shooting in manual more.  If I don’t, I’ll never learn.  Generally, I shoot in aperture priority mode – or Program, if I’m feeling SUPER lazy – but my brain doesn’t work quickly enough to evaluate a scene and immediately know that I want to use an f-stop of 5.6 and a shutter speed of 1/150 with ISO 400.

The women sitting behind me and I both agree that we would like for Ms. Bucnis-Thompson to do another, more-advanced course, but I think everyone in the room came away from her presentation with enough information to take better photos.  She taught a month-long class at a local arts center last month; I may look into seeing if she teaches another in the spring.  I did stay after class for a minute or two to ask her silly questions, like what her go-to metering and focus points were (center all around) and what her go-to lens was (50mm, 1.8 is her workhorse).  She had both Canon and Nikon DSLRs, and – in her opinion – Canon makes the better bodies but Nikkor glass is superior.

Leave a Reply

