Miscellanea

My bi-weekly quest for the perfect loaf of bread continues.  This week’s attempt was the Country White bread recipe from Taste of Home.

sammich

This loaf is the first one in a while that has no wheat flour in it.  It wasn’t bad, but something about the flavor wasn’t quite right.  In the last couple of weeks, the recipes have called for sugar rather than honey – I don’t know if that’s what is hitting my taste buds strangely or if there’s something else in play.  I think I prefer the last loaf I made; I may go back to that recipe the next time I feel the need to bake bread.  Of course, at the rate I’m going, that’ll be in a couple of weeks.  I’m still afraid to try the brioche, but since I REALLY want to try the French Toast casserole, I figure I may give in and try that loaf next.

hate chixChik-Fil-A-ish Tenderloins

I came across this recipe for Chik-Fil-A Bites with a dipping sauce a couple of weeks ago and decided I had to try it.  I decided to use tenderloins instead of chopped chicken breasts, which I may revise in the future.  The flavor was good, but the chicken was a little dry.  I’m thinking I should have used skinless, boneless chicken thighs as I originally planned – maybe next time.

I donned my good granddaughter hat this weekend and went to my grandmother’s sorority luncheon.  Once again, I continue to be baffled as to how a forty-year-old woman (i.e. moi) can be so ridiculously socially awkward.  I simply do not possess the idle chit-chat gene; I can’t decide if it’s better or worse when you throw alcohol into the mix.

I wish I could blame the environment, but it was just as bad a couple of hours later at the local green dress run.  There were a couple of familiar faces from the Sin City trail I went to last month and a couple more from Columbus who made the trip down, but my social anxiety still kicked in.  Hopefully it will get better with time and familiarity.

0319b

Say goodbye to winter!  The final dusk (okay, late afternoon) of the last full day of Winter 2013!  Of course, there are flurries forecast for Thursday…

Leave a Reply

