A Spring in My Step

Today has been all about the first day of spring, flurries not withstanding.  Trip to the mall yielded some spring clothes, though not the lighter-weight coat which was most needed.  Following trip to the grocery store for sweet stuff was more successful.  I came across Oatmeal Lemon Creme bars a couple of days ago and decided it would be an ideal first day of spring dessert.

zestyMmm, lemon zest!  In the corner is my new Good Grips Zester/Grater, which I looooooooooooooooove.  The last time I needed something zesty, I bought a different micro planer (I think it was a Kitchen Aid) which really didn’t do what I needed it to do.  This one is perfect!

lemonyWith only six ingredients, the most difficult thing about this recipe was finding a can of condensed milk which hadn’t expired in the last decade.  NOTE: it required a return trip to the grocery store.  This slurry of lemon zest, a little juice and a whole lot of sweetened condensed milk gets sandwiched between layers of packaged oatmeal cookie dough and chilled.

oatmeal lemon

It all worked out in the end.  Grandma gave it a “Very good!” so I’ll put this one solidly in the win category.

Leave a Reply

