Circle of Life

When I was in college, I used to get periodic care packages from my grandmother – the one with whom I am currently living.  Usually they consisted of half a cream cheese pound cake (my cousin at ORU got the other half) and some other knickknacks.  Today, I got a care package while living with her that made me smile just as much.

package

Sure, I’ve seen all kinds of spoilers – thank you, Facebook! – but now my grandmother and I can watch DA from the beginning.  She all but snatched the DVDs out of my hand when I opened the box; I had to take them back in order to take the picture.

And yarn!  Oh happy, glorious, yummy sock yarn!

Thank you, thank you, thank you to Holly of the Sheepish podcast for my package of goodies!  You’ve just guaranteed my sanity for at least another 10-15 minutes!

The multi-colored yarn is Mind the Gap by Trailing Clouds.  It’s self-striping and I CAN. NOT. WAIT. to cast it on.  MTG has special, giggly significance to Holly and myself.  She and I went to London and Paris together in September 2006 and had a blast, near concussion and all.

The dark blue-green superwash is Twinkle Sock by Unwind Yarn Company in the Aurora Borealis colorway.  The rich red is the Tranquil BFL by Wool Therapy.  Both will be delicious and keep my little fingers busy for weeks to come.  Of course, they’ll all have to wait until I get a hold of my ball winder and scale back in the wilds of Virginia.  I never did master the art of winding a center-pull ball by hand.

I have to keep reminding myself that I have two different socks already on the needles and that I do not need to cast on another sock right now.  Primavera #1 is coming along.

primaveraI’m a bit further along than this now; I’ve finished the heel flap and am starting to close up the gusset.  It’s a little snug so I’ll have to try it on again once the gusset is taken care of to see if I have to frog it and start again.  I know it’s green and all, but PLEASE no frogging.

Leave a Reply

