Reinventing the Wheel

After the epic four-day brioche extravaganza, I finally had the opportunity to sit down and make the Overnight French Toast Casserole.

frenchtoast1

Brioche nested on bed of brown sugar & butter

topped

Soaked in egg, etc & topped with chopped pecans

My two cents?  The flavor was good, but I wasn’t wild about the texture. The top was a little dry and the bottom a little gummy for my taste.   This may have been a product of the fact that I halved the recipe and had to stack my bread instead of setting it flat on the bottom of the casserole dish for its overnight soak.  The recipe is okay if you’re making breakfast for a group and you want everyone to eat at the same time, but I prefer my French Toast the old-fashioned way: skillet-fried and slathered in butter and syrup.  Since I’m only making breakfast for my grandmother and myself, I think I’ll revert to the old standby in the future.

After my brioche-ian issues, my friend Erin recommended that I check out Bakewise by Shirley O. Corriher.  She claims it will demystify the brioche experience.  All I know is that I’m not sure it was worth the four-day exercise.

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Reinventing the Wheel

  1. Stephenie says:

    I made it last weekend as per your Twitter mandate, and it was amazing. Challah (our usual recipe) baked the day before, cut into precisely 1.5″ slabs, laid at the bottom of the 9×13″. I was skeptical that the thick slices would get soaked all the way through, but they did. Yummy!
    (This is a long comment. I can’t help it, I managed to remember to catch up on your exciting bakey, planty, knitty, writey, photo-ey life.)

    • knascar says:

      LOL. You can ramble as long as you’d like. I need your polenta pie recipe, too. I’m glad your casserole was more successful than mine!

Leave a Reply

