Earth Day

0427

Officially, Earth Day 2013 was last Monday (also my dad’s birthday), but “Earth” also happened to be today’s Fat Mum Slim photo prompt.  Coincidentally, it was also the Spring Gardeners’ Meeting at the park where we have our community garden plot.  It’s still in REALLY rough shape, especially since we’re supposed to be able to plant as soon as next Wednesday.  The coordinator says she’s going to try to get them to till the plots again before 01 May but she’s not sure she’ll be able to get it done.  As little as I know about sowing and reaping, I know even less about plowing and tilling.

As I mentioned a couple of days ago, the peppers are the only items to have survived either my inattention or smothering – it’s a toss-up.  Today I tried Round 2 with my tomato seeds:

greenhouse

Insert, the Tomato Greenhouse (exit, sucker for marketing).  Each of these little peat pods has been planted with 2-3 tomato seeds; hopefully they’ll start to do their thing.  Theoretically, when the time is right, I can just plant the entire pod.  I also started pots of basil, thyme and parsley seeds because…why not?

At the meeting this morning, the coordinator mentioned that there were a couple of extra plots available so I went ahead and signed up for a second one.   Remember when this was just going to be a couple of containers on the patio?  Me neither.  *sigh* I don’t know how this got so out of control.  That’s not true; I know exactly what happened.  My grandmother happened.

seeds

Every time I turn around, she’s casually mentioning how she would like to add some or another vegetable to the garden.  It went completely off the rails this morning when she discovered the seed table where last year’s seeds were available for the taking.  Fortunately, my cousin and co-gardener had begun to realize that her planned plantings exceeded her half of the plot, and she was completely okay with splitting off on her own.  

Now I have to figure out what I’m doing with 18′ x 36′ all to myself.

plotX

Back to the drawing board.

2 thoughts on “Earth Day

  1. Stephenie says:

    I’m not so sure that the apple fell very far from the Grandtree. It turns out that someone else is an obsessive hobby planner too….

Leave a Reply

