Happy Mother’s Day

This is one of those days that just sucks.  There, I said it.  For me, this is a sucky day.

I lost my mother to lung cancer almost 5 years ago and today – along with Christmas – is one of the hardest days for me to struggle through.  My mother and I were never particularly close as I was growing up; our relationship improved dramatically once I moved out.  It’s not as though there were any huge rift between us; we just weren’t storybook close.  I simply don’t know that we ever understood one another.   However, as is so often the case, the older I get, the more pieces of her I see in myself: the craftiness (though I can’t draw worth a lick); addiction to trashy romances; and baking to show my love for others.

Today, I’m baking for HRG.  She’s currently munching on Strawberry-Sour Cream Scones with her coffee; they were awarded the coveted “Very Good” rating. Fortuitously, I just received my Bzzkit* for Fage Greek Yogurt, so I figured this would be a good way to kill two birds.  Since Greek yogurt can be substituted 1-for-1 for sour cream, into the mixing bowl it went!

berryog

fold

patted

sconeThe folding-and-patting of the dough was a little tricky for me.  I have a tendency to take a heavy-handed, how-fast-can-I-get-this-done approach, but I didn’t want to break the berries so I did my best to take my time.  The scones have a wonderful moist texture and a slightly tangy taste.  They’re not quite sweet enough for my taste, but that’s easily fixable.

Since this is the first time I have made this recipe, I cannot compare the flavor and texture of these scones with Greek yogurt versus sour cream.  The only thing I can state with conviction is that they are moist, tart and delicious.

* Disclosure: As a BzzAgent, I received a coupon for a free container of Fage Greek Yogurt.  Any opinions expressed are strictly my own.

Leave a Reply

