Saturday’s Experiment

It’s strange – I’ve been unemployed for years and I still think in terms of work days and weekends.  I wonder why that is?

In a slightly different turn of events, I spent yesterday afternoon photographing a meeting that my cousin was hosting.  She feels her faith very strongly and decided to organize a group of like-minded women to get together and discuss issues of faith, gender and life in general.

As I sat in a room with these women who are incredibly passionate about their beliefs, I felt decidedly out of place.  To say that I am not a particularly religious person would be an understatement.  I was not raised in a church-going home; my parents were different denominations and attending church regularly simply wasn’t something we did.  A part of me wishes I had that unshakable faith that there is a master plan for me, that if I believe enough then life would all make sense.  I don’t know if I’m too old or too cynical or just too…me, but I have difficulty embracing that mentality.  Maybe I’m not there yet; perhaps I never will be.

Anyway – TANGENT!  While I roamed the room ensnared in my own existential, ecumenical crisis, I realized once again that I’m either just terrible at taking photos of people or I just don’t like doing it.  Part of it I know has to do with my own issues – I love snapping photos but I despise shoving my camera into someone’s face in order to do so.  At a glance, I’m disappointed in the photos I took yesterday.  My kit lens kept limited the zoom I could get on some of the women’s faces during the discussion, and frankly, a dozen women sitting around a table talking didn’t make for terribly dynamic photos.  What’s more likely is that I didn’t have the skill to create interesting photos given my subject matter.

Intellectually, I understand that the only way that I’ll get better at photographing people is to make a point of doing it with more frequency but I really prefer inanimate objects.  I think this is likely because I can take photos of things over and over again until I get a shot that I like; whereas with people, you pretty much get one opportunity to get it right (unless you’re dealing with models, I suppose).

purp

Leave a Reply

