Split Decision

I was hoping to get to the garden this morning before the skies opened up, but I didn’t quite make it.  The drizzle started early and turned into a soaking rain that lasted all day.  Good for the garden, but I would’ve liked to have gotten the rest of it replanted before the rain kicked in.  Oh well, I’ll go check it out tomorrow and see what’s what.

So, since I was trapped inside all day, I ended up in the kitchen.  I meant to bake another loaf of Strawberry-Cream Cheese Bread, but ended up prepping dinner instead.  I still had some Fage Greek Yogurt left from my BzzAgent freebie, so I decided to try something savory as opposed to something sweet.

I’d had Life of Meg‘s Skinny Greek Yogurt Chicken bookmarked for a month or so and decided it was time to give it a go.  As usual, I substituted boneless, skinless chicken thighs for the breasts called for in the recipe.  I know that breasts are the optimal choice for lighter fare, but I just don’t like them.

ingredients

sauce

Mixed the yogurt and grated cheese together with seasoned salt, pepper & garlic powder and slathered it on the chicken, then baked for 20 minutes (time adjusted for thighs).  I’ll definitely make it again, but I might tweak a couple of things – dial back the pepper a little bit, and I may dredge in breadcrumbs after the yogurt, just for a change in texture.  I suppose the beauty of this recipe base is that you can blend whichever herbs you prefer into the yogurt mixture – Dijon mustard and rosemary also crossed my mind as future additions.

yogurt chixIntroduced HRG to orzo salad tonight.  Once we got past the “No, it’s NOT rice…I promise!” argument, I think she liked it.  The chicken, on the other hand?  Well, she managed to choke it down once she added barbecue sauce.  Oh well, can’t win ’em all.

* Disclosure: As a BzzAgent, I received a coupon for a free container of Fage Greek Yogurt.  Any opinions expressed are strictly my own.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

