In The Weeds

After yesterday’s rather embarrassing phone call, I knew I had to get serious about weeding.  Four and a half hours later, I feel like I barely made a dent.  I don’t understand how some of my neighbors have NO sign of weeds in their gardens.  Did they sprinkle some magical elixir that keeps the weeds at bay?  Am I just special?

Part of the reason today took so long is that I did most of it – nay, ALL of it – by hand.  Didn’t drag the snazzy new cultivator out of the trunk at all.  Initially I wasn’t sure whether the soil had dried out enough to use it, but then I decided I would try to weed through some of the seedlings to see if they were salvageable.  That required a lot of hunching over and kneeling and squinting and…let’s just say I’m not looking forward to waking up tomorrow.  Maybe I should just take the ibuprofen now…

Before going to the garden, however, I went to Up and Running Dayton to get fitted for new running shoes.  It’s doubtful that I’ll ever move at a pace faster than a brisk wog (walk + jog or “bouncing walk” to those not used to my made up words), but need a new pair of shoes dedicated to exercise now that my old sneaks have become my gardening/hashing shoes.  Not surprisingly, Sauconys are the winners for the third time in a row.  Now I just have to convince HRG to shell out $100+ for shoes.

I did carve out time to take my Fat Mum Slim photo today.  Today’s prompt – an animal:

0608The rest of my photos from this year-long project can be found at my photo blog, if you wanna check ’em out.

 

Leave a Reply

