Baby Steps

After visiting the Dayton Recreation Center this afternoon, I think I’ve decided that this is the facility I want to get a pass to.  I’m mostly an elliptical girl – though I have the vaguest notion of trying to run again – and I really like the equipment at this facility.  There seem to be enough machines and it’s only about a 10-12 minute drive from the house.  Now I just need to bite the bullet and go for it.

I’ve been taking baby steps towards eating better, too.  I’m still helpless in the face of homemade cookies (note: look for healthier sweets recipes), but I’m making a concerted effort to eat more vegetables and back down my portion sizes.  I also dug out my old info for my SparkPeople account.  Oh, food tracking – how I haven’t missed you even the teensiest bit.

dinnerOkay, not the healthiest salad ever, but it was tasty and probably contains twice the number of vegetables I consumed in the previous week’s dinners combined.  Note: I can’t be held responsible for the iceberg; that’s HRG’s lettuce of choice.

I also whipped up a batch of bug deterrent.  As I mentioned, I noticed some of my tomato leaves were looking a little munched upon so I consulted my dear friend, the Internet, and eHow recommended this concoction to deter critters.

repelIt looks kinda like…yeah, I don’t know what it looks like.  Garlic, cayenne, liquid detergent, vegetable oil and water – I hope it does the trick!

3 thoughts on “Baby Steps

  1. Stephenie says:

    Nice work on the healthy eating. I should join you…hmm…hungry…

Leave a Reply

