Who Needs Blockbuster?

It’s been Depressing Movie Night here at Chez Hodgepodge.  It’s my own fault – I knew my library movies were due tomorrow and waited until the last minute to watch them.  One really shouldn’t watch Zero Dark Thirty and Les Misérables back to back.  Surprisingly, I preferred the former to the latter.

ublThe very beginning of Zero was difficult to listen to but it definitely set the tone.  The acting was incredible and the story…well, we know the story.  It’s a bit of a misnomer to say that I enjoyed this movie, but I would definitely recommend it to others.

Knowing the story was perhaps the problem I had with Les Mis – well, maybe not the story but the music.  I’ve seen the stage production just once but I have the original London soundtrack (which I’ve listened to ad nauseum), so the adaptations kept throwing me off.  I’m still processing how I felt about the movie as a whole, but right now it’s only warranting a solid “Meh”.  I may need to watch it again before I can judge it for sure.

Leave a Reply

