If At First You Don’t Succeed…

kicks…get back on the horse.  Or something like that.

Thanks to the good folks – Rachel & Wes – at Up & Running Dayton for getting me fitted for my new shoes.  I find you pay a little more at stores like this, but for me, it’s worth the additional expense for the wonderful service they provide.  Now I just need to get off my butt and head to the rec center.  I finally picked up my shoes and my fitness pass this afternoon, so tomorrow is E-Day.

For me, exercise – almost more than food consumption – is all about accountability.  Sure, I’ll check into the center on FourSquare, but does anyone have any apps that they like to use to track their workouts?  I’m so bad, I used to literally put gold stars onto a wall calendar to note the days I made it to the gym.  Those blank squares during the week would shame me into heading back out, more likely than not.  Of course, I could go low-tech but what’s the point of owning all these damn iProducts if I’m not going to get any use out of them.

To that end, does anyone out there use any apps for iPod or iPhone that they love as a fitness/nutrition tracker?  I’ve heard of SparkPeople, RunKeeper, MyFitnessPal, Fitocracy & Nexercise – are there any others I’ve missed?  Do you love or hate any one of these?  Any advice would be muchly appreciated!

Now it’s time to go to sleep.  Early morning alarm, banana smoothie then off to the gym!

Theoretically.

rec

 

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “If At First You Don’t Succeed…

  1. I’ve had great luck with Runkeeper for my walks/runs. And I am a faithful user of myfitnesspal as it helps me be conscious of my food and exercise

  2. I like MapMyRun for recording my runs, but I don’t do a whole lot with it since I also have a Garmin, and it’s more likely I’ll wear that on a run than carry my iphone. But I find it helpful when I do use it. And, the maps are editable in case the satellites screw up and show you started in a different place (or stopped it and remembered 10 minutes later to start it again).

Leave a Reply

